Making a new workflow

My requirements are unusual, but the questions around the stability of the API are concerning to say the least.
Can anyone provide a best guess, or working model of the data that will remain stable in the API calls?

I’m working through an alternative workflow that seems so far from a non-trivial change to the OFN code that I can’t see a way to neatly slot it into the existing structures and so I’m looking at leaning on the API to hack together an alternative. Time is a factor, I’m not a quick coder.
Essentially, the vast bulk of our farmers and volunteers are so assertively non-technical that only one or two volunteers are left to do all the data entry and manipulation, currently on spreadsheets and the current OFN workflows are too onerous for this concentration of effort. So functions like auto-filling customer boxes according to an algorithm rather than picking an item at a time, re-evaluating the picking lists halfway through distribution (and printing to paper, email and app) are my hard requirements. I can make all that work, but the Rails code simply doesn’t seem to support it and I don’t think my changes would fit well, nor would they be needed in core.
Additional soft requirements are coping with other things such as farmers handing over their produce an hour before distribution, which means super fast data entry and again, re-evaluating picking lists quickly and efficiently.

Hi @dave-dave

There is an issue that has been prioritised and will be done soon that will clarify use and increase stability of the orders endpoint - https://github.com/openfoodfoundation/openfoodnetwork/issues/3770

there is also more documentation of the api at https://app.swaggerhub.com/apis/haseleyi/ofn-staging/0.1

There are a couple of other threads that might also be of interest, discovery on packing / reporting and how we improve it is starting shortly