Enterprise Locations

Purpose

To alter the data model around enterprises and their addresses to allow for greater flexibility in how the relationship between an address and an enterprise or multiple enterprises is configured, thus providing support for as-yet unsupported setups.

Constraints and Immediate problems which must be solved

As a Producer, I want to offer my own produce for pickup from an existing Hub, but within my own order cycle, without creating a duplicate hub on the map, and without the need for a complex set of permissions around controlling or creating the Hubs order cycles.

As a Hub, I want to offer a series of pickup locations for my products, without necessarily creating a who new enterprise for each pickup location. This is useful when the pickups are ‘nubs’, ie. the only information which differentiates them is the physical location of the pickup.

Ability to perform all existing use cases must be preserved.

Things to think about

• How enterprises would be able to share a ‘location’
  • Exposure of Payment and Shipping Methods on the front end, and where they sit in the data model
  • Permissions around using a ‘location’
  • Impact on UI, front and back
  • Naming conventions - does the use of ‘locations’ affect the use of Enterprise Flags?
  • Implications for order cycle interface - differing inventories for differing locations

Proposal

Locations and Enterprises

• The address property of enterprises is pulled out into a new model called a ‘location’.
  • A ‘location’ may be shared between multiple enterprises, but has only one ‘owner’ enterprise
  • Each enterprise must have at least one ‘location’, much the same way it currently must have an address
  • Enterprises may have multiple locations
  • The ONLY property or set of attributes that is shared between enterprises that share an address is the address itself. ie. Payment and Shipping methods, Products, Order Cycles are NOT shared.