I analysed our test suite speed in order to reduce build time. Here are my results :)

Hello all, this is my first post here - nice to e-meet you all :wave: :slight_smile:

I’m a developer at Funding Circle. I love writing tests. And I have recently become obsessed with optimising tests for speed. The reason being that faster tests mean faster build times which in turn means more productivity and happier devs/product team :raised_hands:

After a conversation with @filipefurtado over on Slack I decided to run an analysis of OFN’s test suite focusing on its speed. The hope was to come out with some actions that I/we could work on in order make the test suite faster.

I’ve now finished my analysis, and I am excited to present my results here (see bottom of post).
Before you jump into the slides, some quick notes:

• There are only 9 sparse slides, but for the time-sensitive among you, there is a TLDR slide at the beginning
  • This is only my second time running such an analysis. If there is anything I’m missing, please do let me know :pray: I’m very keen to know people’s thoughts on this topic. I am fairly new to tech in general, so I am still in my learning phase :nerd_face:
  • I’m keen to start speeding up OFN’s test suite, so let me know if you agree with my “conclusion” slide and I can get cracking on with that work :muscle:

View analysis HERE

4 Likes

Thank you for that analysis! It’s good to know that there are no obvious improvements to make. The two suggestions from your analysis are already in progress:

• Convert features specs to system specs.
  • Work on slowest examples to speed them up.

So I don’t think that we need to take any additional action here. Do you agree?

Hey shen-sat, a big thanks on this :raised_hands: :star_struck:
For your interest and initiative, but also for sharing the results and how to reproduce them.