Hubs can block shoppers / decide who accesses their private shop

What is the need / problem

• As a hub manager I run a public shop and require customers to login to buy. But some customers buy and don’t come to pick up. Or even if the shop is public the shop is invisible on the map and we send the link only to the list of members so when people are not members anymore we want to keep the records but remove their access to the shop.
  • As a hub manager I run a private shop. With the way the feature is designed today, all the people listed on my customer list can access my private shop.
    If I want to remove the access to my private shop for a customer, today I have no way to do that: I can’t delete a customer from my customer list. I can’t either setup anywhere that he cannot see my shop.

Who does it impact

All private shop hubs + invisible shops who manage member access on public shop + public shops who have issues with some shoppers.
At the end it’s quite a lot of shops.

What is the current impact of this problem

The hub manager cannot block / remove access to the shop.

What is the benefit in focusing on this

Enable hub manager to remove access to customers who previously had access if they are not members anymore or if they didn’t honor their previous order engagements.

Links to more details

An issue was opened in GH, we thought it was a bug but was just that the feature was not super well designed. So we propose to evaluate the feature candidates to answer that need and choose one before we implement the private shop v2 feature that allow removing access for customers.

Potential solutions that will solve this problem

1 - Add the possibility to “block” a customer (status “blocked” for a given shop on a customer account). That would either: